Te Rūnanga o Ngāti Tama

Elected to the Runanga Board in February 2016 were returning members, Paul Silich and Larry Crowe, and new members Conrad O’Carroll, Amos White, Patricia O’Carroll, Lisa White and Tahu White.


The historical claims of Ngāti Tama were heard by the Waitangi Tribunal between 1990 and 1995. In 1996, as part of the process for achieving a mandate form Ngāti tama to negotiate their Treaty claims in Taranaki, the proposal for the mandate to be held by the Ngāti Tama Iwi Development Trust was publicised. On the ratification of the governance entity, Te Rūnanga o Ngāti Tama was established.